You are at: Home > Our Schools

Our Schools

The independent sector is made up of different groups or small systems of schools as well as many individually operated schools. Independent schools vary widely in size from small remote schools with as few as 50 students to large regional and metropolitan schools with more than 1000 students. Independent schools are located in all areas of Northern Territory.

Independent Schools

Independent Schools in the Northern Territory are:

Lutheran Schools

Lutheran schools are independently operated and the education program they offer can be tailored to serve the needs of their local communities.  Lutheran schools gear their resources to ensure they remain faithful to their mission and are accessible to the community.

Lutheran schools are strongly linked by a common ethos, aiming to provide quality education in which the gospel of Jesus Christ informs all learning and teaching, all human relationships and all activities.

There are four Lutheran Schools in the Northern Territory.

Lutheran Schools in the Northern Territory are:

Steiner Schools

Steiner education balances academic, artistic, practical & social aspects by

educating the whole child. It prepares our children for an unpredictable future through a process of nurturing the child from within.
Steiner Education is designed to meet the changing needs of children, aiming to enable each stage of growth to be fully and vividly enjoyed and experienced.
The academic, artistic and social practical aspects or ‘head, heart and hands’ are treated as complementary elements of a single learning program allowing each to throw light on the other.
Steiner Education’s curriculum is responsive to the developmental phases of childhood. It is permeated with the arts, encourages creativity, and cultivates children’s imagination, as well as cognitive growth and a sense of responsibility for nature and its inhabitants.
Academic subjects, including writing and reading are taught differently to mainstream educational methods. This requires awareness by parents of processes used within the Steiner system and tolerance for students to be at
levels that differ from mainstream peers.
There are two Steiner schools in the Northern Territory.
Steiner Schools in the Northern Territory:

Christian Schools (Northern Territory Christian Schools Association)

The Northern Territory Christian Schools Association (NTCSA) delivers and promotes high quality education based on Christian principles. It does this through outstanding schools and other education and training ventures.

NTCSA is committed to supporting parents in the nurturing of their children and promotion of a strong partnership between parents and staff in each of its school communities.

The core objectives of NTCSA are to provide quality Christian education, training and care to young Territorians.

Christian Schools in the Northern Territory:

  • Araluen Christian School - Alice Springs
  • GAWA Christian School - Elcho Island
  • Mapuru Christian School - Mapuru Homeland - North East Arnhem
  • Marrara Christian School - Darwin
  • Nhulunbuy Christian School - Gove Peninsula
  • Palmerston Christian School - Palmerston
  • Sattler Christian College - Bees Creek (formerly Litchfield Christian School)
  • Woolaning Homeland Christian School - Litchfield 

 More information about these schools can be found at the Northern Territory Christian Schools Association website.

Araluen Christian College Gawa Christian College Good Shepherd Lutheran College Kormilda College Litchfield Christian School Living Waters Lutheran School Marrara Christian College Milkwood Steiner School Nhulunbuy Christian School Nyangatjatjara College Palmerston Christian School St Andrew Lutheran School St Philips College The Alice Springs Steiner The Essington School Darwin Tiwi College Woolaning Homeland Christian College Yipirinya School Yirara College

School Finder

school finder

School Search





School Levels